Printer-friendly version

Current Size: 100%

UNESCO World Heritage site

Straddling the French-Spanish border and overlooking the Spanish canyons of Añisclo, Pineta and the mythical Ordesa, the territory of Gavarnie is part of the "Pyrénées-Mont Perdu, cirques and canyons" national park, recognized as a World Heritage site by UNESCO.


This recognition confirms the covenant between man and natural beauty, his remarkable adaptation to the natural challenges posed by the altitude and terrain, which has never stopped trade and friendship between the communities of the Spanish and French sides.


»Visit the official website of the UNESCO World Heritage programme

  • Unesco
  • Patrimoine mondial
  • Grands Sites de Midi-Pyrénées
  • Gavarnie-Gèdre
  • Région Midi-Pyrénées
  • Union Européenne